Home‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

Nominations Open for 2018 Public Safety Telecommunications Awards Program!

posted Jan 12, 2018, 11:13 AM by Daryl Branson



Recognizing EXCELLENCE in Public Safety Communications

The Colorado combined Chapter of NENA / APCO is pleased to recognize the outstanding achievements of public safety telecommunicators within the state of Colorado. Awards for 2018 will be awarded at the 2018 NENA / APCO State Conference to be held April 18-20, 2018 at the Church Ranch Marriott in Westminster – 7000 Church Ranch Blvd, Westminster CO. Specific time: TBD

Awards are in the categories of:

  • Outstanding Team Performance
  • Telecommunicator of the Year
  • Trainer of the Year
  • Supervisor of the Year
  • Information Technologist of the Year
  • Radio Frequency Technologist of the Year
  • Communications Center Director or Manager of the Year
  • Center of the Year

Nominations must be received no later than Friday March 2, 2018.

Each year, we receive many outstanding nominations in each category. The program is successful because others took the time to nominate those outstanding telecommunicators.  Please take the time this year to submit a nomination for an individual or team you believe to be worthy.  We hope you will also take the time to pass the word to others in the public safety community in the state of Colorado who may not be members of NENA or APCO.

To submit a nomination, download the appropriate nomination form for the correct category from the box below.  Once completed, email the form to Tina Powell at tpowell@weldgov.comPlease place NENA / APCO Awards in the “Subject” line.

  • The winners in the individual categories will receive a cash award of $100.
  • The Team of the Year will receive a cash award of $250 as well as a plaque to be displayed in their center.
  • The Center of the Year will receive a cash award of $500 as well as a plaque to be displayed in their center.

Selection Process:

Last year we partnered with the Kansas APCO Executive board for the awards selection process. We traded nominations for both boards and selected for each other. We plan on doing the same process this year and look forward to partnering with an Executive board from another state!

If you have any questions about the nomination process, please feel free to contact Tina at tpowell@welgov.com or 970-400-2895.

2018 Awards Nomination Forms